Moving On {Part 3}

Hello, dears!

It’s been AGES since I made the last “Moving On” post, but I wanted to wait until I could finish up this mini-series. And now I can! We are all moved in to the big house now, except for one room of unpacked boxes… yeah, that might take us a while. XD But now, enjoy this account of the most recent phase in our moving process! I can’t go over every single part in detail, so I’m just going to highlight some major chunks: packing and unpacking the house, packing up Dad’s shop, and taking down the old log cabin. Enjoy!

Packing the House

Packing up our old house was exhausting and kind of sad. I can’t remember the rooms ever being empty, since we moved there when I was one. However, it WAS exciting to finally be ready to move into the big house! One day while we were packing I saw this box which used to hold bittersweet vine found on our farm, and I had to get a picture. Moving really is…

moving on 1

Often when I got up in the mornings, I would step between this curtain and the window…

moving on 6

and look out at this view, to see what the weather was like, and wonder what would happen today.

moving on (2)

The last evening at our old house was gorgeous. It was sad to think I’ll never see these views from the upstairs windows anymore. I’ll miss them. *sigh*

moving on 5

Some of our family as well as people from church helped us pack up, which was wonderful! Dad got a (not the most beautiful) trailer for our semi, to load up all our stuff. We fit practically our whole house into one trailer. It was strange to see all our familiar furniture stacked together in an unfamiliar place like that.

moving on (1)

And then we left. We can come back again, of course, but it will never be the same since the house and the farm are no longer ours. *sigh*

DSC_1292

Goodbye, old farm. ❀

DSC_1294

Unpacking House Stuff

The semi trailer got to our new farm a couple days later, and since my Dad and brothers weren’t available to unpack as soon as we hoped, the girls decided to start in ourselves! We got probably 2/3 of the semi trailer unpacked with just my mom, my grandmother, us three girls. πŸ˜€ It was great. I didn’t get too manyΒ pictures of this, but I got a ton of videos! I want to make a fast-motion video of us unloading the trailer. πŸ™‚ Here’s a picture of Logan helping us, at least:

DSC_0001.JPG

It took us two days, I believe, to get to this: AN EMPTY TRAILER!

moving on 4

After we unpacked our dining room table + chairs, we sat down to the first “official” meal in the big house, with delicious food that some of our friends from church kindly brought us. ❀

moving on 10

HA HA, here’s one last bonus picture for this section. XD Gram was like, “Allison, where’s your camera? You need a picture of this!” And I hurried off to get it. πŸ˜›

In case you’re wondering, the package is a fridge. One of many, sadly. Dear me, the first fridge we got from Lowes wasn’t the right kind, the second one didn’t work, the third one leaked, the fourth was the wrong kind AGAIN, and we’re still waiting for Lowes to bring the fifth one and HOPEFULLY IT WILL BE RIGHT THIS TIME. Goodness gracious, WHAT ON EARTH IS WRONG WITH LOWES?

moving on 9

Packing the Shop

Once we got the house stuff moved, we went back to our old farm and packed up Dad’s entire shop (which he uses for fixing farm machinery). Let me tell you, that was a job! Over 40 years, the shop had accumulated enough nuts, bolts, screws, paint, ratchets, wrenches, etc. to seriously open their own hardware shop. XD Only it would be an extremely dusty hardware shop.

moving 15

moving on 15 (2)

moving on 15 (4)

For some reason I think this looks really neat…

moving on 15 (1)

moving on 15 (3)

As you can see, Dad has SO many tools in all different sizes, particularly wrenches. I really like this picture. πŸ˜€

moving on 13

The best part of packing was having pizza for lunch. πŸ˜›

moving on 14

Taking Down the Log Cabin

Remember this old, fallen-down log cabin in our backyard?

DSC_4524

Well just a few weeks ago, we took it down the rest of the way. I was hoping to find some more neat old letters or other interesting artifacts, but sadly we mostly found… a lot of junk. It was a bigger project to take it down than I expected, but it’s nice not to have to stare at it from half the windows now. πŸ™‚

First, Dad and the boys pushed it over with the telehandler. Next we all clambered up on the roof with a couple of hammers and started extracting the nails so we could peel off the metal. The tar paper under the metal was covered with dead ladybugs and stinkbugs. O.o That was nice.

moving on (2)

moving on (3)

moving on (4)

After we dragged away the roof skeleton, we had to pick out all the leftover boards and junk. That took quite a while.

moving on (5)

Thankfully we had the skidloader to help!

moving on (7)

Like I said, we didn’t find many valuable old things, but we did find some interesting junk! Including…

moving on 10
Apologies for the awful picture. I was trying to make the junk look at least a BIT prettier but I think I made it worse…?
  • a rather sad-looking work boot
  • 3-5 fire hoses
  • a crushed dog kennel
  • two rusty lawn chairs
  • a bent-up bike
  • two very nice terracotta flower pots
  • a rusty metal flamingo that Megan REALLY wants to restore XD
  • a blue plastic kiddie pool (which Carmen was EXTREMELY excited about XD)
  • a large, enormously thick slab of slate
  • an antique water pump

We are keeping the second half of the aforementioned items. Also some of the century-old heart pine wood.

It was finally cleared away about supper time. We were planning to make a patio around the chimney, but it’s not in the best shape so we might take the chimney down later after all. :/

moving on (8)

And there you have it! A VERY abbreviated account of some moving-related things that we did recently. We are all enjoying living in the big house immensely. It’s just so huge and beautiful! Maybe once we get it decorated I can give you guys a tour. πŸ˜‰

What was your favorite section of this post? Do you think Megan should fix up the flamingo? Ever have troubles like we did with our fridge? And what is your favorite kind of pizza?

Thanks for reading, dears, and have a lovely day!

***Allison***

55 thoughts on “Moving On {Part 3}

  1. I clicked on this post the second it popped up in my email. XD I’ve really enjoyed reading the moving on posts and seeing all of the pictures! πŸ™‚ The first part was so sad but sweet. ❀ And oh my GOODNESS, four wrong fridges in a row?? O_o The pictures of the shop are all so neat!! YES, MEGAN, RESTORE THAT FLAMINGO. Also, my favorite kind of pizza is… pizza? XD I love all kinds, I guess. πŸ˜› Now I'm hungry for pizza… thank goodness tomorrow is Friday!
    I'm so glad that you guys are having fun in your new house! I can't wait to see more photos. πŸ˜€

    -Clara ❀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Aww, really? YAY! I’m so glad you liked it! UGH I KNOW, right?
      Thanks so much! Hee hee, SHE SHOULD. XD Heh, that’s a good favorite kind. πŸ˜‰ And we’re actually having pizza tomorrow too! Yum.
      Thanks for the lovely comment, Clara. πŸ˜€ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh, lovely pictures, dear! I quite enjoyed this post (as I do all your posts). The first section is so sad and bittersweet (and I love the curtain picture β™₯). AND HA HA, THE FORKLIFT PICTURES ARE SO GREAT! And I love the black and white tools pictures. β™₯ β™₯ I JUST LOVE YOUR POSTS, OKAY? And ooh, I finally get to see the pictures of the removal of the log cabin! *rubs hands* I think I already relayed all our appliance troubles to you *rolls eyes*…don’t get me started on that again. XD Yes, Megan should fix up the flamingo. She should paint it and put it in your room. *nods*

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks, my friend! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. ❀ Ahh yes, it was a sad and bittersweet section in real life too. And thanks! HA HA, I KNOW, RIGHT? It was pretty funny. XD D'AWWW, WELL THANKS. Yep, indeed! Heh heh, okay, I shan't get you started on that again. πŸ˜‰ HA, WELL. I don't know about that. Hey, maybe she should put it in the yard of the Cedar House!

      Like

  3. My favorite type of pizza is pepperoni. What about yours? Tell Megan I said she should fix up that poor flamingo. It looks like it needs some tender loving care.

    Like

  4. Ooh this was lovely! Though it’s always sad to say goodbye to places. I think Megan should keep the flamingo. It’s a flamingo!!!!!!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved all your photos!❀️The flamingo you found reminds me of the flamingo from Gnomeo & Juliet, if you’ve ever seen that movie. XD You should restore it for sure, hehe! Also, your dad’s workshop had such organized wrenches, it was oddly satisfying to look at the picture. XD Great post, and I hope you and your family are very happy in your new home!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww, thanks! Ha ha, really? I’ve seen a preview but never actually watched it. Heh heh, we should. And I agree – I think the organized tools were satisfying too. πŸ˜‰ Thanks again, Olivia! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I love reading your posts now that I’ve seen you in your new home. Still sad to see you go, but thankful for your beautfiul house and friendships.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Very interesting post, Allison! I liked seeing all the pictures. πŸ™‚ Yes, I definitely think Megan should restore the flamingo, though I don’t know what one would do with one of those things…
    Your fridge troubles sound awful. I don’t think we’ve ever had anything quite like that, fortunately. Hopefully you have a good refrigerator now. πŸ™‚
    The only pizza I eat is my mom’s amazing homemade pizza, and I have some pieces without cheese and with peppers, onions, and pepperoni. I also eat some with cheese and pepperoni if there’s any left. I like mozzarella cheese on pizza if it’s crispy, but if there’s too many toppings than it doesn’t get crispy. So that’s how I like my pizza. πŸ˜‰
    One more thing–did you get my email I sent a little while back? I just wanted to make sure it didn’t go in your spam folder or something. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, I’m so glad you liked it! Hee hee, she should. Yeah… I guess stick it in the yard, but I’m not sure if that’s the style we’re going for exactly. XD
      Yeah, it’s pretty annoying. :/ I’m glad it hasn’t happened to you! Right now we still have the leaky one, but hopefully the fifth one is right…
      Ooh YUM! We mostly eat homemade pizza (I’m making some tonight, actually!), but we’ll occasionally get some from a restaurant for special. Really? That’s interesting. I love cheese when it’s gooey, although I agree that sometimes it’s a little TOO gooey and just kind of makes a soupy mess. XD
      I did get your email! I was actually planning to reply to it today, and then I saw this comment – so now I definitely will. πŸ˜‰ I’m sorry it always takes me so long! Thanks for asking, and thanks for the comment!

      Like

      1. Haha, that’s kind of what I was thinking. I don’t think I’d exactly want a flamingo in my yard… XD Megan should fix it up anyway, though. πŸ˜‰
        Yay for homemade pizza! One of the reasons why my mom’s pizza is so great is because she makes a really good crust. πŸ™‚
        Oh, good, I’m glad you got it. Don’t feel bad about reply yet–I was just making sure you got it. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yeeeahh… XD But yes, she should!
          Ooh, that sounds great! Our crust is decent, but nothing spectacular I don’t think.
          Yep! Okay, well thanks. πŸ™‚ Hopefully I’ll send my reply by tonight!

          Liked by 1 person

  8. The poor flamingo looks so sad! I think Megan should at least try fix it up some. Wow, your dad’s workshop looks like a huge jub to pack up. Even worse than my family’s garage. πŸ˜† My favorite kind of pizza is bacon and black olive.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. You’re welcome! Thanks for always reply to your comments, I love bloggers who do that. I mean, I understand if they just don’t have that kind of time, but it’s fun when they comment back. 😁

        Like

  9. Oh, I loved all the pictures! And I thought the b&w ones of your dad’s tools were especially cool! πŸ™‚ The things you found sound neat, and YES, Megan should restore the flamingo and do a post on it, haha! πŸ™‚ No, I have never had trouble with fridges like you have, when I read that I was like WHAT??? Maybe next time you should try Home Depot, LOL! πŸ˜› And ooh pizza! My favorite is super cheezy with lots of onions! What is your favorite kind? πŸ™‚

    I loved reading the whole post, it was very entertaining and just the little break I needed while doing Bible Bee studying. ❀ I can't wait to see more! πŸ˜€

    Like

    1. Thanks so much, Livy! I like the b&w ones too. πŸ™‚ Hee hee, she SHOULD do that. XD I KNOW, RIGHT? Such strange troubles. Ha ha, yeah… next time we should try SOME other store at least. XD Oh yum, that sounds delicious! I like meat lovers or supreme, although I don’t care for mushrooms. I LOVE olives, though! πŸ˜€
      Aww, I’m so glad to hear that, dear! I hope your studying goes well. πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  10. This was a really great post, Allison!! Thanks for updating us! How’s the refrigerator situation going? πŸ˜›
    I think Megan should totally restore that flamingo!
    The photos of your Dad’s shop are really cool!

    I’m excited to move, but it will definitely be different. We still haven’t started building yet, but we are so close! I think we need two more sets of plans with the fine details and then we need to run the plans through the county! After that, we can start building!! πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks so much, Liz! And ha ha, unfortunately we still have the leaky refrigerator. *shakes head* BAD LOWES. XD Thanks for asking, though. πŸ˜‰
      I think so too, hee hee!

      Yeah, that definitely makes sense. EEEP, that’s so exciting! I hope it goes well, dear. ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Your welcome! Aw… tell that refrigerator to start working!! XD Of course!

        πŸ˜€ I know!! Thank you so much!! ❀

        Like

  11. Thank You for sharing your moving experience. The photos are lovely. Wishing you and yours a happy and loving life in your new home. God Bless.
    Marion

    Liked by 1 person

Your comments make my day! Please keep them clean and respectful so everyone can enjoy this blog. :) Thank you!