Art Lab, Episode 13

marbling-with-paint

Welcome back to Art Lab! Today I’m going to show you how to make some fun marbled art inspired by some this gorgeous art prompt!

Technique: Marbling

Art Prompt:

Ooooohhhh! Marbled/swirled paint.:

{via}

Wow. Aren’t those marbled canvases just stunning? I’m going to show you how to create your own mini marbled masterpiece using just acrylic paint and a toothpick! (I’m afraid they won’t look quite the same as the canvases above, but… 😄 😉 )

Step 1:

Spread a layer of paint on your paper (heavy paper such as cardstock works best). Make your layer nice and “juicy” but not too thick.

allison-002-1024x768

Step 2: Pour or drip a little bit of different colored paint onto your base paint. Here I added a drop of purple and pink-purple (which was already kind of marbled together in my palette).

allison-003-1024x768

Step 3: This is the fun part! Drag your toothpick through the paint to marble it. It works best if you drag through the paint without scraping the paper underneath. I chose to drag from the center point out which made a beautiful starburst pattern!

allison-004-1024x768allison-014-1024x768

Here are a few other marbling suggestions:

Start with four different colors:

allison-009-1024x768

Go wild with your toothpick! Swirl it, drag it, move it up and down and side to side…

allison-012-1024x768

Make a swirly pattern by drawing a spiral with your toothpick:

allison-011-1024x768

Isn’t this neat? I put a drop of white down, then purple, then white again, and dragged the white outwards to make a star-ish shape. Then I dropped some white and purple spots around. Beautiful!

allison-019-1024x768allison-017-1024x768

You can even make marbled hearts:

Start with a few drops of paint close together on a contrasting color…

allison-026-1024x768

Then drag your toothpick through the drops vertically: (Sorry, this example didn’t turn out too well, but trust me, it looks really neat when it works! 😛 The top two hearts are what they’re supposed to look like.)

allison-027-1024x768

If you swirl the paint in your palette before dropping it onto your paper, you can get more blended designs:

allison-024-1024x768

Or you can simply drop paint onto paint:

allison-025-1024x768allison-021-1024x768

allison-025-1024x768

allison-008-1024x768

The paint may take a while to dry since it’s pretty thick. When it’s completely dry you can hang up your canvas/sign your art, or make a “sampler” ATC of your experiments!

allison-039-1280x960

allison-040-1280x960
I especially love how this turned out. 🙂

allison-041-1280x960allison-042-1280x960allison-043-1280x960

 

What do you think? Have you marbled with paint before? I love seeing how each piece turns out – they’re so different but so beautiful.

***Allison***

34 thoughts on “Art Lab, Episode 13

  1. That’s so pretty! I love how colorful it is. Do you mind if I use it as the background on an ATC I’m making for the next ArtLab post? 🙂

    -Clara ❤

    Like

  2. Those are so beautiful!! I’m at a smidge of a roadblock with my WordCrafters story, so I’ll try to get it posted ASAP. Thanks for being so patient!

    Like

  3. I LOVED this! This was so creative and AWESOME!!! AHHH! I want to go buy a canvas and make a big one! MUST DO IT!!!!!!!! Ahem. Anyway, uh… oh yeah, great job Allison! You always have the most interesting a creative posts! 😀

    Like

  4. WOW! THAT IS SO CRAZY!! I really REALLY want to try this! :O 🙂 😀 WOW! SO COOL! Mom does that with her homemade soap, but I didn’t think about doing it with paint! :O

    Like

      1. No prob! 😀 🙂 Yeah.. I LOVE marbling it! 🙂 Only I usually just get two colors and roll them out, and then twist them together and make a ball out of that- it’s so fun!!!

        Like

I ♥ Comments! But please keep them squeaky clean and respectful of God and man. :) Thank you!

