Moon Photography (+ BIBPC)

Greetings and salutations, my friends! 😄

I recently got some really neat photos of the moon that I thought I’d share. I love moon photography, but it can hard to get a moon instead of just getting a picture of a white blob in the sky. :/ This time it worked out pretty well, though!

I had fun making the moon look like a marble on a marble track… (aka a barn roof)

-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 011 (1280x960)-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 016 (1280x960)-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 015 (1280x960)

Or a bead on a necklace (the moon behind a power line). 😀 Have you ever done this kind of moon photography? It’s really fun!

-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 012 (1280x960)

And of course, I took plenty of “normal” pictures of the moon.

-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 013 (1280x960)-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 014 (1280x960)-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 017 (1280x960)-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 018 (1280x960)-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 019 (1280x960)

-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 022 (1024x768)
This is probably the best moon photo I’ve gotten so far! 😀 You can even see little craters and details!

-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 032 (1280x960)

I got this next, rather strange photo by using a higher exposure (more on that in just a minute). The lighting is really weird! It looks kind of like a mini moon-set. 😄

-Allison(BABY BUNNIES!) 031 (1280x960)

I figured out that it really helps to capture detail on the moon if you set your camera to a lower exposure.Here’s a little chart of how exposure affected my pictures:

moon photography tip

Kind of neat, huh?

Lower exposure is helpful for a lot of things – from making roses redder to fixing bright photo conditions. I’m sure some of you already knew this, but it was helpful for me, so I thought I’d share it! 😀

Do you have any tips for moon photography? Isn’t the moon such a beautiful thing? 🙂

And now for my BIBPC entry. The category this time was “Weeds.”

-Allison(dew drops, hat, nature walk, bunnies, cottonpile) 049 (1280x960).jpg

Story Behind the Photo: I took this picture several months ago in spring (I love spring!). This is a picture of speedwell – that little weed with blue flowers that grows everywhere. The tiny flowers are so cute and pretty to me! When I was little, I used to collect a bunch of blossoms and float them in a blue bowl full of water. 🙂 It was actually really pretty.

Before I leave, I’ll give you a little sneak peek of future posts: I’m hoping to write the second chapter of Beauty from Ashes and do a post about my fair entries soon! 😀

Bye for now!

***Allison***

89 thoughts on “Moon Photography (+ BIBPC)

    1. I actually didn’t use a lens! I have a Nikon Coolpix L830 (you can look it up on Amazon) which is kind of a cross between a little handheld and a professional DSLR. I just zoomed in, but I didn’t attach any extra lens. 🙂 Thanks!

      Like

    1. Thanks so much, Gracie! HA HA HA! 😄
      Yeah – sort of. It’s not a setting like “close-up” or “portrait”, but you can “set” your exposure on most cameras. Although if you have a small, handheld camera, it might not have an exposure option.

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Ok, neat! I’ve been interested in cameras/photography lately, so was curious.
        I’ve been playing around and confusing myself with a little camera that is quite old and can’t seem to hold battery energy! o_O 😛 Oh well, my phone works pretty well for now! 🙂
        ~Gracie

        Liked by 1 person

            1. Yep! Oh, I LOVE it! It’s a really good camera if you’re not sure you’re ready for a professional DSLR type, but you want a better quality camera than a little handheld. It works really, really well, especially for close-ups!

              Like

  1. Thanks for the exposure tips. I have a fancy camera that the Hubb got me for my birthday a few years ago and I still don’t know how to use it! Maybe you can give me a tutorial some time?!? We just moved back to the area and would love to see you and your family again! (I wonder if Ryleigh and Carmen remember each other…)

    Liked by 2 people

  2. OH. MY. GOODNESS. Can I please just come to see you and Megan IRL and have you guys give me a photography course?!?!!! 😄😜 Lol! JK(but that would be beyond amazing 😄)!! Professional job, Allison!!
    I have a Nikon D3300, and I love it! I’ll definitely have to try that tip-and work on making my moons actually look like moons 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES PLEASE COME OVER RIGHT NOW! 😄 That WOULD be super fun, though! It would also be fun to do photography tips on my blog, but they would have to be kind of general because everyone’s camera is different. :/
      Thank you sooo much, Lainey!
      I hope it works for you!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved this! Especially the one where it looks like it’s on a marble track, and the one where it looks like it’s on a necklace string! 😀 You did a profesh job, I haven’t tried much moon photography, it looks too hard! LOL! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I ♥ Comments! But please keep them squeaky clean and respectful of God and man. :) Thank you!

